The Tripple Goddess Symbol

tripple goddess

The triple goddess symbol is a beautiful and powerful image that depicts the journey of the goddess and subsequently of the witch through time and life.  There are many versions of the symbol, but at its core it always consists of three parts, a triad, each representing a stage of life making a perfectly symmetrical symbol. This passing of time and stages of life are also seen as the different phases of the waxing, full and waning moon. It represents the different facets of the goddess, and given its femininity it could be used as a powerful feminist symbol, not in the political sense but in the “I am woman, hear me roar” sense, if you will 😊

The maiden

The first stage is depicted by a crescent moon, it represents the maiden, young and full of life beginning her journey.  The points of the crescent moon point to the left as it is just beginning to grow and become a full moon. The Maiden represents enchantment, inception, creation, expansion, new beginnings, birth, and youth, all this with youthful enthusiasm, represented by the waxing moon.

The mother

At the center there usually sits a full moon, representing the maiden having become a full-fledged woman, sometimes also depicted as a mother. This center piece is the one part of the symbol that is often changed. Sometimes the full moon is swapped for a pentacle or a heptagram or perhaps an image of the goddess etc.  The middle part of the symbol is the Mother, it represents the perfect time, being ripe, fulfilment, sexuality, fertility, stability, power and life, all of which is represented by the full moon;

The crone

The last piece of the symbol is the waning crescent moon, it represents the crone, the woman’s last stage in life, after having lived a full and fulfilling journey it comes to a close. The Crone represents wisdom, repose, death, and all endings represented by the waning moon.

The power of three

These three together, maiden, mother and crone are also said to rule the heavens, earth, and underworld. Hecate, Diana, and Lucina are often seen as the threefold goddess, the fates are also associated with the triple goddess symbol. Triad deities have made their presence in many cultures around the world and during just about every period. Carl Jung thought the triple goddess represents a universal female archetype. Whether one attributes an entity to the symbol (Hecate, fates, etc) or takes the more abstract approach, one thing is clear; the triple goddess symbol is the perfect trinity symbol representing the full cycle of life and the totality of the journey the witch will take.

WiccanLore has many designs depicting the triple goddess symbol with many variations hoping to satisfy every possible need, but if you cannot find exactly what you are looking for, you can always reach out and I will do my best to design the right triple goddess symbol for you. From nature inspired using blossoms and flowers to the more modern aesthetic using clean cut lines and solid colors to whatever you can imagine. You can also find just about every other symbol in the book, and some that didn’t make it there, from pentacles to sigils and visual spells to the more traditional heptagrams and so on.

Older Post Newer Post